New members inducted into Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame

The Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame has welcomed two new members, international athlete Donna MacFarlane and AFL icon Michael Roach.

Donna MacFarlane

Australian middle distance and steeplechase runner Donna MacFarlane is proof it’s possible to come out of retirement and make a comeback.

After retiring from athletics in her early 20s, five years later, as a married mother-of-two (later to become three) Donna resumed running to get fit.

Under new coach, Max Cherry, Donna improved her best times over every distance from 400 metres to 10 kilometres.

One year after returning to running, Donna was selected for the 2006 Commonwealth Games, in Melbourne, where she won a bronze medal in the 3000 metre steeplechase.

Immediately following the Commonwealth Games, Donna helped Australia to a team bronze medal in the IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Fukuoka, Japan.

Donna set an Australian record and her personal best time of 9:18:35 by finishing in third in the women’s 3000 metres steeplechase at the 2008 IAAF Golden League Meeting in Oslo, Norway.

In 2008, Donna represented Australia at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in the first ever women’s 3000 metre steeplechase.

Donna ended her international athletics competition with the 2009 World Athletics Championships in Berlin, and maintains an involvement with Athletics Australia.

Michael Roach

Michael Roach, originally from Westbury, was recruited to the Richmond Football Club in 1977, and was a member of the 1980 premiership side.

In 1980, Michael became just the second Richmond player ever to kick 100 goals in a season, an achievement that saw him awarded the Coleman Medal. In 1981, Michael was again awarded the Coleman Medal.

By the time Michael’s football career was over, at the end of the 1980s, he had kicked 607 goals in 200 games.

Seven times Michael Roach was Richmond’s Leading Goalkicker: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1986, and 1987.

As an honour to the goal kicking great, the Richmond Football Club has named its leading goal kicker award the Michael Roach Medal.