Tasmanian Athlete of the Year 2020-2021

At a cocktail function on Thursday 9 December, Ariarne Titmus was announced as the Tasmanian Athlete of the Year for 2020-2021. The function held at Princes Wharf 1, also celebrated the four inductees into the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame.

Judging for the award was based on athlete performances recorded during the two year period November 2019 ‑ October 2021, the award was not held in 2020 due to a lack of international competition/performances due to the impact of COVID-19. Ariarne has gone back to back having also won the award in 2019.

Ariarne had an incredible season including her Olympic Games debut winning two Gold, a Silver and a Bronze medal, resulting in her becoming Tasmania's first ever individual Olympic gold medallist. Ariarne won both the 200m and 400m Freestyle events, came second in the 800m Freestyle and third in the 4x200m Freestyle.

Ariarne's fellow finalists for the Tasmanian Athlete of the Year 2020-2021 were Josh Beltz  and Eddie Ockenden (hockey), Deon Kenzie and Stewart McSweyn (athletics) and Richie Porte (cycling).

Unable to travel to Tasmania due to her training schedule, Ariarne was represented by her parents Robyn & Steve. Via a pre-recorded message Ariarne said, "I am a proud Tasmanian and I still believe Launceston is my home town.  I felt the support of the state immensely when I was at the Olympics.  It hit me hard how much you guys backed me at the Games and I'll be forever grateful for that".

Congratulations on your amazing season Ariarne and we look forward to your future successes.