Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame Inductees

On Thursday 9 December, four new members were inducted into the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame.

The Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to recognise outstanding Tasmanian sportspeople and there are now 139 athletes from a broad range of sports inducted.

The Minister for Sport and Recreation, Jane Howlett, announced Tim Deavin, Matthew Goss, Kerry Hore and Sid Taberlay as the newest athletes in the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame at a joint cocktail function also celebrating the Tasmanian Athlete of the Year award.

All four inductees were in attendance and shared with the audience their career highlights and stories from their sporting journeys.

Tim Deavin had a seven year international hockey career with the Kookaburras and attended two Olympic Games, London in 2012 and Rio in 2016, earning a bronze medal in London.

Matthew Goss enjoyed a 12 year international cycling career including gold at the Track World Cup in Denmark in the Team Pursuit. Matt had 17 major wins throughout his career and raced for Australia at the 2012 London Olympics in the men’s road race.

Kerry Hore is an Olympic bronze medallist and was the first Australian female rower to represent Australia at four Olympics: Athens, Beijing, London and Rio.

Sid Taberlay is a five-time National Champion, World Championship medallist, and Oceania medallist. Sid is the first mountain biker inducted into the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame.

Tim Deavin Matthew Goss Kerry Hore Sid Taberlay