Tasmanians to Tokyo 2020

Twelve Tasmanians will make the journey to Tokyo as part of the Australian Olympic Team for the 2020 Olympics. With the opening ceremony taking place on Friday 23 July, the Australian Olympic Committee has finalised the Australian Team with 488 athletes set to compete in Tokyo.

The Tasmanian cohort includes four time Olympian Eddie Ockenden alongside Olympic debutants, Stewart McSweyn, Dan Watkins, Nathaniel Atkinson, Josh Beltz, Sarah Hawe, Ariarne Titmus and Jake Birtwhistle.

Cyclists Georgia Baker and Richie Porte will make their second Olympic appearance, along with Tasmanian born basketballer Chris Goulding who will again take the court for the Boomers.

Ciona Wilson has been named as a travelling reserve for the heavyweight women's rowing crews.

For full athlete profiles and schedules head to our 2020 Olympic Games page.

Tokyo 2020 Olympians

  • Stewart McSweyn – Athletics
  • Chris Goulding – Basketball
  • Daniel Watkins – Canoe
  • Georgia Baker – Cycling
  • Richie Porte – Cycling
  • Nathaniel Atkinson – Football
  • Eddie Ockenden – Hockey
  • Josh Beltz – Hockey
  • Sarah Hawe – Rowing
  • Ariarne Titmus – Swimming
  • Jake Birtwhistle – Triathlon
    Travelling Reserve
  • Ciona Wilson – Rowing

The Olympic Games will run from Friday 23 July -  Sunday 8 August.

Full Tokyo Olympic Schedule

Australian Olympic Team